Most homes in the northeastern United States, where winters are typically cold, have traditionally used oil as their major fuel for heating. Last heating season that region experienced 90 days with below-normal temperatures, and climate forecasters predict that this weather pattern will continue for several more years. Furthermore, many new homes are being built in the region in response to recent population growth. Because of these trends, we predict an increased demand for heating oil and recommend investment in Consolidated Industries, one of whose major business operations is the retail sale of home heating oil

The investment firm has advised the client about a seemingly fruitful opportunity.The firm has mentioned the current situation of homes in NorthEastern America wherein they use oil as a primary source of heat. Also scientific predicion about the future situation has been presented to support the claim. Also due to population growth, there has been increase in the housing development. All these reaons lead to final conclusion of investing in a company that is one of the giant in retail sale of home heating oil

The suggestion given by the firm is rife with loopholes which can be exploited.

Firstly the statistical data about the number of homes in NorthEastern America is missing. The firm says that "most homes" used oil as major fuel for heating. Now without any hardore statistics, it cannot be asserted that the number of homes was a large number. Also it has been mentioned that winters are typically cold. How cold? and typically cold in comparison to which region? To provide more support, they have also mentioned last season's climatic situation. They claim that last season experienced 90 days below normal temperatures. THey failed to mention to what level did they fall to and for how much time during those 90 days? was it consistent?

Secondly climate forecasters' prediction have also been used as evidence to bolster thier claim. But the firm failed to elaborate the weather pattern that the prediction claims to continue. The firm furthermore used the increase in population as a factor leading to increase in homes and evidently leading to increase in demand of oil. But here again statistical data is missing. The increase in population might not be that significant. Also it would not be feasible for a company to invest large capital in area with small growth potential.

Thirdly the firm claims that investing in Consolidated Industries would benefit the client. The firm has provided no evidence to the fact that the said company is doing business in the NorthEastern region of America. For all we know the compnay might be a market leader in all other places except this one. Also if the company is a major business, relativey small increase in demand might not interest the company. Hence they might be reluctant to invest in those areas where they feel the room for growth is very meager.

So to conclude the adivice given by the firm is full of loopholes. The Firm should have conducted more statistical data based study of the situation. Only then the potential benfits of the situation would become clear and hence they could offer sound advice to their clients.