A movie producer sent the following memo to the head of the movie studio.

“We need to increase the funding for the movie Working Title by 10% in order to ensure a quality product. As you know, we are working with a first-time director, whose only previous experience has been shooting commercials for a shampoo company. Since the advertising business is notoriously wasteful, it stands to reason that our director will expect to be able to shoot take after take, without concern for how much time is being spent on any one scene. In addition, while we have saved money by hiring relatively inexperienced assistant producers and directors, this savings in salary will undoubtedly translate to greater expenditures in paying the actors and unionized crew overtime for the extra hours they will spend on the set waiting for the assistant directors and producers to arrange things. If we don’t get this extra money, the movie is virtually assured to be a failure.”

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author sates that due to the inexperience of the director ,the funding of the movie should be increased by 10% or else the movie is virtually assured to be a failure.The memo provided by the movie producer is flawed in many ways.The argument provides many unwarranted assumptions thus the argument totally lacks evidence which supports the claim and stands unpersuasive.

The threshold of the argument lies on the fact that the director is a first time director who has previous experience of shooting only commercials.The argument fails to provide evidence on the fact that the director will be productive if the funding for the movie is increased by 10%.

Not only directors who shoot commercials but also directors who shoot movies will not be able to shoot take after take unless they are satisfied with the scene, they don't care much about the time taken to shoot each scene.The time taken for a particular scene not only depends on the experience of the director but on various other factors like the skills of the actors ,the precision of the location,the cameraman,and even the weather on any given day.So the author provides an unsubstantiated assumption that the increase in funds will lead to shorter time taken to direct scenes.

The author also states that by hiring inexperienced assistant producers and directors ,the savings in salary will translate to greater expenditures in paying the actors and the crew .But for greater success of the film the whole unit should coalesce and function as a single whole unit.Only great directors or only great actors never lead to successful films.Even movies with inexperienced actors and directors ,directed on very short budgets have turned out to be successful.So this assumption also stands unpersuasive.

At the same time the author of the argument provides no evidence on why the fund should be increased by exactly 10%.And also he provides no evidence that on what purpose this extra 10% is to be spent on.He makes a vague assumption that the funding should be increased by 10% without stating the needs.

The close scrutiny of the argument states that the author is very vague about his statements which leads to a glaring gap in the memo.So in conclusion,The argument makes many unsubstantiated assumptions thus is totally flawed for many reasons.