A movie producer sent the following memo to the head of the movie studio.

“We need to increase the funding for the movie Working Title by 10% in order to ensure a quality product. As you know, we are working with a first-time director, whose only previous experience has been shooting commercials for a shampoo company. Since the advertising business is notoriously wasteful, it stands to reason that our director will expect to be able to shoot take after take, without concern for how much time is being spent on any one scene. In addition, while we have saved money by hiring relatively inexperienced assistant producers and directors, this savings in salary will undoubtedly translate to greater expenditures in paying the actors and unionized crew overtime for the extra hours they will spend on the set waiting for the assistant directors and producers to arrange things. If we don’t get this extra money, the movie is virtually assured to be a failure.”

In the memo, the movie producer asks for increasing funding for a new movie so that it can be a quality product. First of all, increasing funds does not assure a quality movie but keeping that aside even if we think that increased funding can result in a better movie the arguments given by the producer are rife with loopholes and assumptions which are completely invalid.

Considering the novice movie director, this producer assumes that because he has only worked for the commercials it is a surety that he will shoot many takes for one scene. Has this producer ever seen working style of this director earlier or has he worked with this director? This director might be different from other commercial shooting directors and it is plausible that he does not take many retakes for one particular scene. Without the mention of his previous experiences with this director, the producer just cannot generalize and make an assumption that there will be lot of retakes.

The producer argues that because of all these retakes time will be spent and undoubtedly they will have to spend extra amount for actors and crew members. This assumption is unconvincing as it is possible that the amount of time he is considering will be spent would not be actually spent. Moreover, if the actors and crew members have already signed a contract quoting their fee, they cannot increase it just because the time spent has increased. It is not mentioned in the memo whether these actors and crew members are paid on hourly basis or contractual basis. The information provided here is just not enough to come to this conclusion.

Lastly, the greatest fallacious assumption which has been made by the producer is that without extra funding this movie is assured to be a failure. Any movie does not solely depends on funding, there are several other factors which contribute in the success of a movie. There are many low budget movies like Masaan, The Paranormal Activity which performed exceptionally well and were huge success.

Although, increasing funding can improve many things like advertising and marketing of a movie but it definitely does not guarantee the success of a movie. The assumptions made by the producer fall apart and are not convincing enough to come to this conclusion.