A movie producer sent the following memo to the head of the movie studio.

“We need to increase the funding for the movie Working Title by 10% in order to ensure a quality product. As you know, we are working with a first-time director, whose only previous experience has been shooting commercials for a shampoo company. Since the advertising business is notoriously wasteful, it stands to reason that our director will expect to be able to shoot take after take, without concern for how much time is being spent on any one scene. In addition, while we have saved money by hiring relatively inexperienced assistant producers and directors, this savings in salary will undoubtedly translate to greater expenditures in paying the actors and unionized crew overtime for the extra hours they will spend on the set waiting for the assistant directors and producers to arrange things. If we don’t get this extra money, the movie is virtually assured to be a failure.”

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the memo which was sent to movie studio from the producer of a movie, he is actually concerned about what makes his movie to be virtually a failure.

He assumed that he cannot produce a good quality movie with the current budget and same time there is no guarantee that quality will be better if he increases his funding by 10% because if the budget is suppose $10000- 10% of is $1000 and that may not increase quality as quality depends on many factors.

He assumed that all first-time directors waste lot of resources like time and money. He mentioned- director has previous experience in shooting advertisements and usually they may waste lot of time but there is no evidence in his letter to support that. There is no particular evidence to tell that this director will notoriously waste time, may be he is opposite to what producer assumed and he may take very less time than the producer's expectations.

assumed that inexperienced assistant producers and artists will charge less amount of money compared to experienced once. It may be opposite that inexperienced assistant producers and directors have lot of talent and they will work for more money that producer expected.

He assumed in his memo that those inexperienced assistant producers and directors will take more time in arranging things and whatever money is being saved by paying less to them will compensate the money which will be paid to artists and crew in that extra waiting time. So, whatever he saved is not of any use. But, as they are inexperience may be that they want to prove themselves in better manner to grab future opportunities that may complete those tasks before time and save the time so that money is save and shooting is finished soon and it will in turn reduce the money which will be paid to artists and crew and he may be lft out with the extra money.

as i mentioned the memo of the producer is not deliberately written considering all the aspects so if his assumptions are gone wrong as i stated he will be in profit and that can be used to produce a great quality movie and for producer's shocking movie will become success.