A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

I mostly agree with the idea that a nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college. There are problems with this statement however. For example, in the United States, individual states are granted the power to control education as a part of states' rights. Although states are required to follow federal guidelines to ensure that the majority of the country's students are working towards similar educational levels, ultimately the states control school curriculum. Consider for example the Common Core, a set of federal guidelines that offer a kind of national curriculum. States are not required to follow these guidelines, and indeed many states have opted out of the Common Core in favor of creating their own state-specific curriculum.

Requiring students to study the same national curriculum certainly has benefits. For example, upon entering college, students who have all been exposed to the same curriculum are all on the same playing field. This can allow students from lower-income or underdeveloped areas to compete with more affluent students and school systems. There are risks to requiring a national curriculum however. Those students with more resources will have an easier time mastering the national curriculum, leaving underresourced students at a disadvantage. In addition, requiring a national curriculum undermines the importance of regional and specialized education. Students residing in different parts of a nation will necessarily require different kinds of education, as the history, literature, and cultures of a nation vary from region to region.

Of course, a nation needs its educated populace to have a common understanding of certain functions and ideas. Math, reading, and writing are necessary to include in any curriculum as are certain texts, ideas, ideologies and histories should be included. It is also important to understand the risks of not having a common national curriculum. Take for example the idea of American Exceptionalism. In some regions of the United States, the idea that the U.S. is unique from all other nations on earth and in this way superior to all other countries is explicit in that regions curriculum. There are few benefits to this kind of thinking and instead of promoting critical thinking and academic critique, these students are taught to believe one thing about their nation.

Requiring a national curriculum could certianly offset the manipulation of education practices that can hinder the ability of students to think for themselves. However, requriing a national curriculum could also curtail the original intent of education and the pursuit of knowledge, which of course is to discover new information or new ways of looking at the world. If a nation required all of its students to adhere to one national curriculum, originality, freedom of exploration of different kinds of knowledge, an understanding of the different ways to know would be limited. However, if a national curriculum were to be imbedded with curiousity, a requirement for students to think outside of the box, flexibility for teachers to direct their classrooms as they see fit according to the social, cultural and regional differences of their classrooms, then perhaps a national curriculum could be advantageous, even in such a vast country as the U.S.