Nature's Way, a chain of stores selling health food and other health-related products, is opening its next franchise in the town of Plainsville. The store should prove to be very successful: Nature's Way franchises tend to be most profitable in areas where residents lead healthy lives, and clearly Plainsville is such an area. Plainsville merchants report that sales of running shoes and exercise clothing are at all-time highs. The local health club has more members than ever, and the weight training and aerobics classes are always full. Finally, Plainsville's schoolchildren represent a new generation of potential customers: these schoolchildren are required to participate in a fitness-for-life program, which emphasizes the benefits of regular exercise at an early age.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

As per the given argument Nature's Way - a chain business of selling health food and other health related products - is going to establish new franchise in the town of Plainsville with a hope of great profit; this franchise targets schoolchildren of the Plainsville. In order to shore up this claim of reasonable profit, several examples have been presented. However, on meticulous assay, the argument lacks many hard facts to fortify the claim, owing to which the assumption and the finally derived conclusion sounds utterly skeptical. Before I accede to the given argument, the author should address the concerns I am going to raise below.

First of all, the note presented by the Nature's Way mentions nothing about the products and services it offers to the customers. Without having information about the services Nature's Way going to deliver, it is would be fleet footed to say YES or NO to the claim. In the argument presented above, examples of exercise clothing, health club, and aerobic classes are accorded; however, the Nature Way might be preparing to sell football in the area - which might not be preferred by the customers. Clearly, the author of the above argument should have mentioned customer's preferences of the customers (which may be achieved after a survey) and the products and services it would deliver in the area.

Similarly, the another point of concern is why the Nature's Way targets schoolchildren only. The proportion of adults might be higher in the plainsville, for example. In this context, it would be better to target peoples of all the age-classes, and both the genders. Thus, the reason why it targets schoolchildren only needs to be made clear.

Finally, and probably most importantly, the Nature's Way unfairly assumes that success of existing health business in the plainsville - exercising clothes, weight training and aerobic classes - determines the certainty of business thrive of Natures Way too. It failed to consider the competitive effects of the existing companies already working in the Plainsville. In addition, without comparing the fee structures of Nature's Way and the existing companies, it would be really difficult to claim that Nature's Way is going to thrive in the Plainsville, so that this chain business store needs to make clear about its fee structures a boot before jumping to the conclusion that it would thrive.

Finally, at the end of the day, the argument made by the Nature's Way business group is comprised of several chink in armor. For a robust argument, the company need to address the concerns raised above. At the present state, the argument is going to be no dice to the concerned higher officials who are going to scrutinize it further.