Nature's Way, a chain of stores selling health food and other health-related products, is opening its next franchise in the town of Plainsville. The store should prove to be very successful: Nature's Way franchises tend to be most profitable in areas where residents lead healthy lives, and clearly Plainsville is such an area. Plainsville merchants report that sales of running shoes and exercise clothing are at all-time highs. The local health club has more members than ever, and the weight training and aerobics classes are always full. Finally, Plainsville's schoolchildren represent a new generation of potential customers: these schoolchildren are required to participate in a fitness-for-life program, which emphasizes the benefits of regular exercise at an early age.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author of the argument purportedly asserts that nature's way, a chain of healthy food stores in order to be successful should starts its business in new area because of many customers. However, the premises upon which he puts his claim are fallacious.

First, the author contends that according to merchants' report majorities of residents use sport clothes and running shoes in wide range and it could be profitable for store. However, it does not lend credence to the argument since there is not any information or statistics to show in what extent the report by merchant is reliable. Indeed, maybe merchant report based on their trades or perhaps they want to take advantage of these selling for their career and make a profit for themselves. It is also important to say that we do not know exactly the number of population in new area. In fact, there is possibility that running a new business become unprofitable due to the paucity of customers.

The author also attributes that myriads of residents take part in health club in order to stay healthy such as aerobics class, weight training and so forth. Although it might seem tenable at face, it has some detects. One of the main, if not the only, problem with the premise is that the author do not provide any statistic about participants in club. In fact, there is possibility that people enroll in health club for a short period of time or even what if club experience fluctuation? In this case, a new store might face a terrible market in near future. Alongside that, there is possibility that people register in club just for amusement aims. In this way, people might not spend too much for buying new sport clothes and shoes.

Finally, as set forth by the author schoolchildren regardless of their level of study, are needed to attend in fitness program and children as potential customers could be profitable for store. Nevertheless, the rationale behind this premise could be challenge owing to the fact that maybe school managers contract with another store in order to provide students with new sport clothes or perhaps children be in a tight budget and prefer to use their old-fashion clothes. In such case, a new business will not be able to remain successful and definitely confront a huge problem.

Having scrutinized the premises, a logical conclusion that can be drawn is that the author has ignored the number of assumption the presence of which could strengthen the author claim.