One research study has indicated that many adolescents need more sleep than they are getting, and another study has shown that many high school students in our city are actually dissatisfied with their own academic performance. As a way of combining these problems, the high schools in our city should begin classes at 8:20 A.M. instead of 7:30 A.M., and end the school day one hour later. This arrangement will give students an extra hour of sleep in the morning, thereby making them more alert and more productive. Consequently the students will perform better on tests and other assignments, and their academic skills will improve significantly.

The author of the issue refers to two separate research study and further tries to combine the results of these two studies. First research study indicates that many adolescents need to get more sleep and the second study has shown that high school students in the author’s city are not satisfied with their academic performance. The author recommends that based on the first study to enhance students performances the high schools in his city should begin classes one hour later in the morning so that the students are more alert and prepared for learning. Combination of these unrelated studies does not seem sound and the recommendation can not be accepted because it rests on a number of premises each of which can be challenged.

The most striking problem is that the author does not mention in the first study that how many hours adolescents get sleep during a day. Maybe they sleep for four or five hours and the high school students go for seven hours a day. Hence, indicating the sleep hours for both groups is vital to see if the high school students are similar to each other in this case. One more problem is the difference in the population of these two samples. The author does not indicate that how many people participated in each study. In addition, the findings of one research can be generalized to another population only if the both populations are identical in all respects such as age, sex, and etc; however, in this argument the author does not state anything about these elements in both groups.

The other problem is that it is said that the high school students are not satisfied with their educational performance, however, the reason of this dissatisfaction is not elucidated so it fails to state that it derives from dearth in sleeping. Maybe the academic staff are not professional enough or the educational facilities should be improved. Therefore, the root of this dissatisfaction is so important and delaying the beginning of classes in the morning can not be the solution without considering other respects.

In the final analysis, the recommendation of the author can not be take to be correct, because as it was mentioned in the body paragraphs, it depends on a number of assumptions and many questions should be answered. The recommendation can be accepted only if the weaknesses referred to above are all removed.