Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels.

The following argument is flawed for numerous reasons. Primarily, the argument is based on the unwarranted assumption that the skateboarders are causing the Central Plaza store owners to lose business, rendering its conclusion invalid.

First, the argument fails to address how the increase in the number of skateboarders has directly caused the business in Central Plaza to decline. Although the decrease in business has been occurring simultaneously as the increase in the popularity of skateboarding, there is no evidence the the skateboarding is the reason behind this decrease. It is quite fathomable that the decrease in business in Central Plaza is either caused by the construction of a newer plaza elsewhere or different outlet malls more attractive to customers. In fact, if more skateboarders are visiting Central Plaza, they may purchase items from the plaza itself, thereby resulting in more business for the store owners. Had the argument provided evidence, such as through a survey or poll, that customers are consciously eschewing Central Plaza because of these skateboarders, it would strengthen the argument.

The argument also fails to provide evidence that the skateboarders are the ones who are guilty of vandalizing and littering. For one, other patrons who frequent the mall may be culpable of throwing garbage onto the street. In addition, it is quite possible that gang members are the ones who are vandalizing the plaza by spraying paint and carving gang signs, not the skateboarders. In fact, maybe the business has decreased because patrons are afraid of gang members, rather than the innocuous skateboarders. If the argument had substantiated the allegations that the skateboarders were the ones vandalizing and littering, it still would have to prove that these actions were leading to a decline in business.

Finally, the argument assumes that business will return to its previously high levels that were reached two years ago. One could easily imagine that the economic situation today is not identical to the state of the economy two years ago. With the fluctuations in unemployment rate, job security, and international trade, the store owners cannot expect the sales today to be at the same levels as they were previously. In fact, it is quite possible that tax laws have changed to incentivize citizens to shop less and to save more. Had the argument provided proof that the economy was exactly in the same condition as it was two years ago, it would strengthen the argument.

Because the argument relies on several unwarranted assumptions, it fails to make a convincing case that prohibiting skateboarding in Central Plaza would increase business in Central Plaza to its previously high levels. For the aforementioned reasons, the argument is unlikely to persuade the city to prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza.