Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and

The argument makes a number of unwarranted assumptions regarding replacement of time slot allotted to the late-night news with the earlier weather report and local news. Taken as a whole, these unstated assumptions render the argument highly suspect. Indeed, if these unstated assumptions do not hold true, then argument totally falls apart.

The argument assumes due to longer time period allotted to late-night news program instead of local and weather news, people are complaining about station’s coverage of weather and local news. it may be possible that they are concerned just regarding the quality or content of weather and local news. There’s no confirmation that viewers are dissatisfied with an on-going schedule of the channel.

The argument also assumes that there’s relation between show timings and cancellation of advertising contracts of local businesses. It may be possible that it’s just a coincidence the local businesses can no more afford to advertise on this channel as other channels are doing it for cheaper price irrespective of the program they are running.

Also, There’s no surety about arguments assumption that after restoring the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level, it will attract more viewers and business

As stated above argument makes a number of unstated assumptions. Secondly, Channels business and popularity may have been reduced, but author’s argument rest on faulty assumptions that may be proven false, and with the reasons given cannot be safely concluded that the restoration action will bring back channels earlier glory