“Over the past year, our late night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of l

Author of this memorandum offers to restore time devoted at late-night show to weather and local news to its former level. According to author’s arguments decision to have more national news displeased the audience and decreased advertising revenue. While the correlation stated are logical and probable, in order to accept manager’s proposal it would require more information and though.

First, author states that most of the complaint from viewers were about station’s coverage of weather and local news. While complaints from customers are not a good indicator, we do not have any information about amount of those complaints. How many complaints were in previous period of time and what were they about? In order to increase the weight of this argument, author could provide year-to-year comparison of the data. Otherwise, it is quite possible that in fact, majority of the audience were happy with increased national news coverage and only a small part of the audience did not like the change.

Author also implies that local businesses canceled their advertising contracts because channel devoted less time to local news and weather. It is quite possible, but author provides no confirmation that it is really so. Local business can cancel their contracts for variety of other reasons. It could be price change, decreased business’s advertising budget or any other reason.

At the end author states that restoring the time devoted to weather and local news will lead to audience growth and increased advertising revenues, which not necessarily true. In order to support this statement it would be beneficial to have any survey’s results or some data that confirm, that this is actually, what the audience is looking for.

Although, authors proposal may be a right decision, author’s argument does not provide a full analysis of current situation and more information is required in order to warrant any action.