Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

The author of the memorandum has cited some facts and come to the conclusion that the television station should restore time devoted to weather and local news to its former level to attract more viewers, and to avoid losing any further revenues, resulting from cancellation of advertising contracts by advertisers. However, the argument is rife with holes and unwarranted assumptions, and thus, not strong enough to buttress the preceded conclusion.

Fisrt of all, the author's proposition is based on a questionable assumption that the complaint from viewers is regarding deduced time allocated to weather and local news. However, it is plausible that the complaint could have been about something different altogether, as the author has failed to mention the nature of complaint in the argument. For all we know, it could have been about a wrong weather forcast or misleading news reports made by the station. If such was the case, and the complaints had been about the quality of broadcasts rather that the time allocated for them, the proposed solution may fail to attract viewers and advertisers alike.

Additionally, the author implies that local news and weather reports are popular among viewers and advertisers. But there is no evidence in the argument to corroborate the implication. Perhaps, viewers' and advertisers' preference is down for all types of news and weather segments. A proper approach to validating this information would be to conduct survey on a representative group of viewers and advertisers about their preferred type of broadcast segments. Furthermore, other factors could have prompted the advertisers to cancel their advertising contracts. The advertisers could have been dissatisfied with the services of the television station, there could have been discrepancies on financial matters like increase in advertising fees, or unamicable turn of events with the advertising company. In such case, time devoted to weather and local news wouldn't necessarily be a problem to begin with and hence, may not be related to loss of advertising revenue.

Another possible explanation for both the decreased viewership and loss of advertising revenue is competitors. Perhaps there is a new television station which is garnering massive viewership through its varied and appealing broadcast segments. Advertisers would most likely want to take their business in with the blooming television station rather than stick with the one which is massively losing its viewers. Hence, unless the television station develops proper strategy to cater to viewer's appeal, it may continue to lose viewers, and advertising revenues.

In sum, increasing time allocated to local news and weather reports could be a viable option to solve the television station's current crisis. Nonetheless, the station should address other important avenues to develop a solid strategy which will boost its viewership and reinstate its advertising contracts.