"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

According the memo from the business manager of the television station, it is asserted that the television station should restore the time devoted to weather and local news. This assertion, made by the author are made on several assumptions and has many loopholes. Thus to strengthen his argument the author needs to address several assumptions.

Firstly, the author states that over the past year after they devoted increased time to the national news and less time to weather and local news, most of the complaints received from the viewers were concerned with their station's coverage of weather and local news. But never states the nature of the complaints, it might very well be the case that the viewers are not satisfied by the content of the news rather than the quantity of the news. As the case might be that the news channel is providing inaccurate data about the weather. Or the case can be that the reporters hired are not competent enough and the viewers are repulsed by that.

Secondly, the author assumes that the station is losing its advertising contracts due to change in their late night news program, but author never provides any evidence to support his assumption. As the case might be that the viewers of the show have decreased due to bad content of the news rather than the type of the news and hence due to decrease in viewership the advertising contracts are being pulled off. Or the case might be that any other news channel might be providing better deals to the advertising companies. Or the case also might be that the the local businesses might have thought to expand their viewer population to a global level and might have given their contracts to global news channels that broadcasts their advertisements to a larger population.

Finally, the author disregards the possibilty that the public is interested in a mixture of news including global news, national news, local news and weather reports and the news channel is unable to provide that. Thus to convince me and strengthen his argument the author must provide evidence to support his assumptions- Firstly, he needs to provide that is the quantity of news the major concern or the quality. Next he needs to address the fact that there might be several other problems that has led to loss in advertising revenues and address all those problems. Finally, a proper survey should be held to know the demands of the public.