"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned wit

In the argument given, there are many assumption that author is taking to reach the conclusion.

First of all, there is no data given in the passage about the number of complaints received in response to weather and local news. Since there is not enough information given it would be superficial to take any decision based on this. There should be enough number of data in respect to different age group of viewers so that variance of the problem could be examined carefully. It also might be possible that people who are concerned with late-night shows, are more active into complaining than rest of the viewers so unless a survey is not being done it should be right to reach to a conclusion.

The author also assumes that weather and local news is not at all important at the time when they became penchantic to national news. Since there is also possibility that during that duration weather and local news were more important but it is not as much important in other months of year. There might had be dispute in some part of city or Maybe it is raining heavily as much as there is condition of flood .then more importance should be given to these news rather than national news during that time period. Author should also write information about the importance of weather and local news at that particular time period in the argument given. As only then we would be able to know about whether these things were co-related or not.

Author is also trying to draw conclusion based on the fact that some local businesses has stopped advertising during late - night program, but it should also not be forgot that revenu also could be generated with other national advertisers. Television station should contact them regarding businees as well.

Since this is late night show it could be expected that more young people would be involved in this news program than old people. It might be possible that number of complaints received is from old age group than young people.Nothing is mentioned regarding this case. They might also target advertising based on this data whose products are more for young people.

Since in the giver argument author has presumed many a things which should not be overlooked at the time of drawing any conclusion. Author had also not provided many information in the passage which should be stated above. So it would be rather tough to draw a right conclusion according to this.