Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs.

The argument in question is related to a recommendation from a business manager of a television station to restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level which was previously reduced to devote more time to national news. There is a strong need to evaluate the recommendation as the company has already started receiving complaints about the change in broadcasting pattern and advertisement revenues are going down.

There are various questions that should be answered by the evidence:

1. What is the viewer demographics?

Attracting more viewership is every television station's primary objective. They want to deliver the best that they produce and to the maximum they broad cast. But understanding the viewership side is always a challenging task. First, the target audience should be defined and then second, the total target audience of the television station should be assessed to understand what type of content to deliver. If majority of the target group belongs to the set that prefers national news at the late-night news show, then the status quo should not be changed. But if it is the opposite, the target audience largely prefers local news and weather, this statistics strengthen the argument largely.

2. Revenue model of the television station?

Every company wants to grow bigger with the number of people they are attached to as well as its valuation; which is where profits come into the picture. The previous question was centered towards the consumers of the content, but from the company's perspective, the total revenue made in different situations needs to be cross-checked. If the total advertisement revenue from the local businesses was profitable and the switch to national content was not quite the money-maker, then the argument should be executed. On the contrary, the argument is majorly weakened if the current scenario yields more profits.

3. Understanding of the complaint statistics?

A successful company always listens to its stakeholders and for a television company, its viewers are the most important jewels. Feedback mechanism has always corrected a company's mistakes from a viewer's perspectives and the viewers develop a sense of loyalty and respect when done so. But an understanding of what exactly are the complaints about, is quite important. If the number of complaints have increased when the company chose the national content on preference, then it is a clear indication that viewers are not happy and this will lead to decreasing numbers of loyals.

Therefore, all theses questions should be answered before taking a decision.