"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned wit

The conclusion of argument is that if they want to attract more viewers to the program and avoid losing advertising revenues, they should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level. For support the conclusion arguer cites that when they increase time for national news and decrease time for weather and local news, they receive many complaints from viewers. Also arguer points out that local businesses that used to advertise during last night news program have cancelled their advertising contracts with them. But this argument suffer from several flaws and poor assumption, therefor is unpersuasive.

First of all, the arguer require to give proper information about complaints of their viewers. Perhaps it is possible that one or two person complain many times. So it is require that arguer give statistical data about the complains, So we know that how many person complain about the weather and local news.

Secondly, the arguer assume that the contract is cancelled because of increasing time for national news. Here arguer cannot assume that without any evidence.

It is possible that they cancel contract because of their businesses are in loss or news program increase the amount for giving advertisement in late-night program.

The arguer require to consider all this possibility and after this give any conclusion.

Another problem of this argument is that after they restore the time devoted to weather and local news, it is possible that their viewer are not increase or possible that they do not have any advertise. Then how they avoid losing loss. In this case they take survey of people and ask them which time they more comfortable for weather news, local news, and national news and then after take any decision.

In conclusion, the argument is unconvincing as it stands. To strengthen the argument arguer find real reason for cancelling the contract and find solution of it. In order to better evaluate, the arguer give more information about the complains.