"For the past year, as part of an effort to broaden our supporter base, our Folk on the Air program has allocated less time to traditional American folk music and more time to Latino music and world music. In recent months, many long-term supporters of ou

According to the business manager, it is argued that their Folk on the Air program will convert their present emphasis on Latino and world music to traditional American folk music just as before. In the memo, it is the complaints of many long-term supporters and criticism from a local newspaper that prompt them to make the decision. Even if their apprehension seems sound and indeed, they need to change their existing mode, however, more available evidence is needed to reinforce the validity of the argument.

First of all, the identities of their long-term supporters who grumbled about their un-Ameircan partiality should be given in detail. To be specific, information about their races, ages, etc. should be illustrated. If those complaints, though many, merely came from some conservative, elderly white people who accounts for only a small proportion of their long-time supporters, then their new resolution might be inappropriate. Only through a full grasp of their listeners' requirements and thoughts could they reform their program properly. Therefore, it is necessary to provide more details about who grumbled so that the soundness of the argument could be judged.

Besides, another piece of evidence about the attributes of the so-called local newspaper is wanting. Even if the memo mentions an editorial critical of shift in programming, it remains to estimate whether such criticism is useful and essential. We could understand that the program endeavors to impede any opposing publicity from arising. Yet if the newspaper was inconsequential in most households of the local society or just absolutely recreation-oriented, there might be little value for the program to take such saying into account. In contrast, once the newspaper proves to play a significant role in shaping the views of local people, supporters of the radio included, if any, then the argument could be quite reliable. But what counts most is that the loss of the characteristics of the newspaper should be figured out.

In addition, the argument needs to offer more evidence about why they resolve to change their mode in this way-i.e., back to the one which allocate more time to traditional American folk music. Since it is not cogent that the program transforms in this way just because many complaints and some criticism from a local press. Why could they alter to mode into another, such as equally divide to time for traditional and un-American music. Therefor, more information about why they choose so would benefit supporting that the new-to-come mode is the most appropriate way.

Based on the evidence above, the argument would be enhanced to a convincing one by providing more information about supporters who complained, the local newspaper and why they choose to mode in the new way.