Pirouettes Ballet School is the clear choice for any child. Of all the dance schools in Elmtown, Pirouettes has the most intensive program, and our teachers have danced in the most prestigious ballet companies all over the world. Many of our students have gone on to become professional dancers with top dance companies.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In order for the author's statement to be properly evaluated, we must locate several different assumptions on which the argument is based. Then, we can evaluate these assumptions and decide if they are in fact reasonable.

While the Pirouettes Ballet School may be a beneficial choice for some children, other children may require a different type of school. For example, if a child cares deeply about having fun and does not like to compete then an intensive program like the Pirouettes may not be the best fit for the child.

Also, the Pirouettes' member that wrote the recommendation saying it is the most intensive program is unreasonable and near impossible to justify. In order to prove that Pirouettes is the most intensive program, Pirouettes' member must have tried every other program in the entire world. If the author accomplished this unreasonable task then we would be able to evaluate this part of the recommendation as a fact. And, if the statement is merely an opinion it must be taken with hesitation because the author is biased for being in the Pirouettes Ballet School.

While many of the Pirouettes' dancers may have become professional dancers at top companies, we do not know how many students have accomplished this feat nor do we know if the students obtained the role as a result of their experiences in the Pirouettes Ballet School. In order to properly evaluate this argument both of these unknowns must be discovered. For example, if only five percent of the Pirouettes dancers have become professional dancers at top companies, then the argument is no longer as impressive as what it seems to suggest. The argument states many of the students to give off an impression that a significant amount of students accomplished the feat however, the word many can be justifiable if five percent of the total dancers is three hundred children. So, even though each child is highly unlikely to become a professional dancer at a top company, the argument is still justified but requires an evaluation.

In order to evaluate if the children obtained the role because of the Pirouettes Ballet School, we must survey the members of the top companies. In these comprehensive surveys, we will pinpoint the reasons behind the hiring of the dancers. We will also survey the dancers to see if they learned the skills in the Pirouettes Ballet school that helped them gain the role in the top company. If the top companies state that the dancer's background from Pirouettes helped them gain the role in their company and the dancers say they learned their skills in Pirouettes then the final sentence of the argument can be validated.

In conclusion, many assumptions must be tested in order for the argument be properly evaluated. If the Pirouettes Ballet School is proven to be fit for any child, shown to be the most intensive program and lastly the Pirouettes' dancers at top companies gained the role because of the Pirouettes Ballet School then the argument will be properly justified. However, if these assumptions are proven false then the argument therefore will be false.