The president of Grove College has recommended that the college abandons its century-old tradition of all-female education and begin admitting men. Pointing to other all-female colleges that experienced an increase in applications after adopting coeducation, the president argues that coeducation would lead to a significant increase in applications and enrollment. However, the director of the alumnae association opposes the plan. Arguing that all-female education is essential to the very identity of the college, the director cites annual surveys of incoming students in which these students say that the school's all-female status was the primary reason they selected Grove. The director also points to a survey of Grove alumnae in which a majority of respondents strongly favored keeping the college all female.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author of the argument purportedly highlights that all college students should terminate their policy about segregated education and start coeducational enrollment owing to the fact that the number of students will rise drastically. However, the premises upon which he puts his claim are fallacious. For the support of which more well-established evidence should be given.

First, the author contends that alumni association oppose this idea due to the fact that it will diminish the integrity of colleges. However, it does not lend credence to the argument since there is no sufficient evidence to support if segregate students from each other are the main reason of identity and integrity. One point that should be considered is that knowledge and experience of colleges' students will determine whether a college is identical or not. Indeed, there is the possibility that alumni just want to take the control of college with the least number of female students because they know that cope with male students is harder and need a meticulous program.

The author also asserts that based on an annual survey, majorities of students have selected Grove because of no male enrollment. Although it might seem tenable at face it has some defects due to the paucity of evidence, which could consolidate the premise the otherwise. One of the main, if not the only, problem with the premise is that this study could not be reliable and accurate. Indeed, the author does not show to the extent students have participated in that survey. Maybe myriads of students have been satisfied with the policy and alleged their agreement. Alongside that, maybe grove provide more opportunities for female students in order to reach their higher education than male. So, in this case, the female will prefer to enroll in Grove College.

Finally, as set forth by the author the director cite to a survey that crowds of participants prefer Grove to remain all-female. Nevertheless, the rationale behind this premise could be challenged owing to an inadequate evidence to support if female students respond the survey by their own free will or association coerce them. One point that should not go unnoticed is that again this survey could not be reliable because we are not sure whether it is impartial or by the alumni association. In fact, oppose of director enhance the likelihood that respondents are in a close relation with a director and they persist on all-female college.

Having scrutinized all the premises, a logical conclusion that can be drawn is that there is some evidence, having been ignored by the author while the answer of which could add to the logic of each premise.