A recent sales study indicates that consumption of seafood dishes in Bay City restaurants has increased by 30 percent during the past five years. Yet there are no currently operating city restaurants whose specialty is seafood. Moreover, the majority of families in Bay City are two-income families, and a nationwide study has shown that such families eat significantly fewer home-cooked meals than they did a decade ago but at the same time express more concern about healthful eating. Therefore, the new Captain Seafood restaurant that specializes in seafood should be quite popular and profitable.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author of the argument purportedly highlights that a new seafood restaurant in the Bay City could be profitable due to the fact that majorities of people do not have time to cook and eat home-made foods. However, the premises upon which he puts his claim are fallacious. For the support of which some critical, yet ignored question need to be addressed.

To commence with, the author contends that according to a study seafood dishes are among delicious and nourishing food between people and have increased during past years. However, it does not lend credence to the argument since, a question that might arise is whether people are still interested in eating seafood and it is popular among them after many years. One point that should be considered is that the study could not be reliable and accurate owing to the fact that it does not show to the extent people really like seafood or even what kinds of seafood. In fact, there is possibility that the taste of people change during past years and a new seafood restaurant might face a terrible market. It is also important to say that perhaps vast majorities of people prefer to eat vegetable nowadays instead of seafood dishes.

The author also points out that there is no restaurant in the Bay City to offer barely seafood. Although it might seems tenable at face, it has some defects since you can always ask this question if seafood dishes only serve in seafood restaurants. One of the main, if not the only problem with the premise is that there are myriads of restaurants in every given city, which serve different kinds of food including seafood. Indeed, these restaurants might offer variety of foods and seafood in a way that could effects humans' taste greatly. Alongside that, the author does not mention to the extent people prefer to go seafood restaurants per day. As a matter of fact, there is possibility that people prefer to experience various foods and restaurants in the city.

Finally, as set forth by the author many families because of their career and not enough time, do not cook home-made foods rather than they did in past years. Nevertheless, the rationale behind this premise could be challenged owing to an unsettled question if the situation were identical a decade ago for families. One point that can't go unnoticed is that many situations such as economic prosperity will change rapidly during ten years. Indeed, there is possibility that families are coerce to be two-income family nowadays because of economic recession. This situation make it hard to prepare home-cooked food every day.

Having scrutinized the premises, a logical conclusion that can be drawn is that there are a number of question, having been ignored by the author while the answer of which could add to the logic of each premise.