"A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring."

In the letter, the author exhibits a recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys, indicating that there is a close link between the birth order of rhesus monkeys and the cortisol levels, and in view of this cue, so does with the human beings. Perhaps, this connection is true for rhesus monkey, but there are more factors may lead to the heightened levels of cortisol for this kind of primate animals, not to mention the humans. Based on the premise of the valid study, other explanations like interior emotion and diverse response of babies of different ages to exterior stimulus may illustrate the high levels of cortisol the firstborn shows in the stimulating situations, not just connecting with the birth order.

The close connection between the birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation may be explained by the genetic gene, coming from their mother, whose levels of cortisol is highly related to their offspring. For one thing, as the first baby, he may inherit more similar physiological characteristics from his mothers than his younger siblings. For example, the more active his mother's adrenal gland, the higher her first-born baby's cortisol level inherited, the less her second and next ones have this character. Another possibility is age, which decides the quantity of cortisol in a mother's body——the older a mother, the less her adrenal gland secretes cortisol, resulting in the younger babies with the less levels of cortisol, a quality inherited from his mother. So does with his inheritance from his father. Moreover, when a mother monkey is first pregnant, her level of cortisol is her first baby's, far higher than her next ones. For this reason, the level of cortisol of the firstborn baby may be in the genes.

Apart from the above-mentioned internal factors, the levels of cortisol lie in different responses that primate animals at different ages are confronted with outside environment. Generally speaking, due to better cognition and more experience, the older distinguishes between threat and safety more acutely than the younger, the latter easier credulous of strangers. Consider in the face of threatening situations, the firstborn monkey will quickly realize and respond to the dangerous situations, resulting in secreting more cortisol, compared with his younger siblings, to prepare for taking an aggressive or protective actions, aiming to ensure the safety of his own and his younger siblings, while the latter are even unconscious of the impending danger. Furthermore, when, with the increasing age, the elder autonomously burdens more responsibilities on his shoulders like taking care about his younger siblings, the increasing pressures will spur the secretion of cortisol, correspondingly the elder higher levels of cortisol than their younger sisters and brothers. The age differences therefore may also be one reason for the explanation of the high levels of cortisol in the firstborn babies.

Importantly, not only are the cues from the study applied to all the firstborn monkeys, but to the firstborn human beings, who also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations. Admittedly, this may be real, whereas the level of cortisol may depend on various causes, such as psychological and physiological changes. Conscious of the risk of parturition, the psychology of first-time mothers' is usually filled with terror and timidity, which in turn stimulate the secretion of cortisol, passing to her offspring, while at the next parturition, the nervous psychology will disappear, and accordingly the level of cortisol declines. For another, the physiological changes like bones, tissues, are often extremely apparent from the start of the first pregnancy, and then remain stable in next pregnancies and parturitions, inducing to the corresponding change of cortisol secretion and so does with their offspring from the first to the next, far from the effect of the birth order.

In a nutshell, although the cues that the level of cortisol is related to the birth order in stimulating situations may be true, there are many other explanations for the high levels of cortisol in the firstborn babies of primate animals: genes, maturity, psychological and physiological changes, and so on.