"A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The author of the editor of a scientific journal provides an argument that, analysis the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation by conducting a study on eighteen rhesus monkeys. Though his claims well have merits, the author presents a poorly reasoned argument, based on several questionable premises and assumptions, and based solely on the evidence the author offers, we cannot accept his argument as valid.

The primary issue with the author’s reasoning lie in his unsubstantiated premises. The author claims to conducted the study on eighteen rhesus monkeys, but he didn’t explain the extend to which, rhesus monkeys are related to human being. The author’s premises, the basis for his argument, lack any legitimate evidentiary support and renders his conclusion unacceptable.

In addition, the author weakens his argument by making assumptions and falling to provide explanation of link between the simulating situation in an infant monkeys and firstborn humans. The former one suggests, when a firstborn infant monkey see an ‘unfamiliar’ face, an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey, will trend to produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol. And the latter one suggests, when a firstborn human see ‘familiar’ face after a long time, the return of a parent after an absence, will trend to produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations. The two examples are contradictory to each other and stating different situation.

While the author does have several key issues in his argument’s premises and assumptions, that is not to say that the entire argument is without base. As at the end of the argument, author do propose a study which states that, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring, which seems to strength his premises. Though there are several issues with which the author’s reasoning at present, with research and clarification, could be improved significantly.

In sum, the author’s irrational argument is based on unsupported premises and unsubstantiated assumptions that weakens his claim that birth order have effects on an individual's levels of stimulation. If the author truly hopes to change his readers’ mind on the issue, he would have to restructure his argument, fix the flaws in his logic, clearly explicate his assumptions, and provide evidentiary support. Without these things, his poorly reasoned argument will likely convince few people.