A recent study indicates that children living in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal have lower levels of tooth decay than children living in suburban areas in the United States, despite the fact that people in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal re

The account provides us with facts from a recent study that seem to be cogent at first glance and without taking into consideration any other explanations, one will easily corroborate with the conclusion that regular dental care is not helpful in preventing tooth decay.

Firstly, the study suggests that there are lower levels of tooth decay in the children of Nepal than the children living in suburban areas of United States. The study fails to take into account the oral hygiene that the children in the two different sets follow. A good oral hygiene equals better oral health and prevents tooth decay. The study does not elaborate on various aspects of oral hygiene exercised by the two different groups. The children from Nepal could be following rules like brushing the teeth twice in a day and gurgling properly after consuming food. The study does not provide us with such data.

Secondly, the study also does not provide us with the diets of the two different set of children that were studied. High sugar intake is often linked to greater tooth decay. The account does not include the average sugar intake of the children in each region. The children in suburban area would have greater access to 'Sugar Rich Chocolates' and 'Ice-creams'. However, the children of Nepal may not be privy to such confectioneries. The study does not cast any light on the sugar intake data. Moreover, the higher the chances of tooth decay means the higher the visits required to the dentist.

Finally, the account suggests that a higher number of visits to dentists translates into lesser tooth decay. We cannot simply assume this.A lot of people visit dentists and hospitals after a lot of damage is already done. It might as well be that the children visiting the dentist already have such levels of tooth decay that it is irreversible. Therefore, the timing of dentist visit is also crucial.

In conclusion, the conclusion of study is flawed unless otherwise substantiated with concrete evidence. The study fails to take into account various factors that lead to tooth decay and therefore, to conclude that regular dental care is not helpful is not right.