A recent study indicates that children living in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal have lower levels of tooth decay than children living in suburban areas in the United States, despite the fact that people in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal receive little to no professional dental care, while people in suburban areas in the United States see a dentist an average of 1.25 times per year. Thus, regular dental care is not helpful in preventing tooth decay.

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument

The argues that regular dental care is not helpful in preventing the tooth decay, because the children in Himalayan region Nepal have low dental issues compared to United states, even though they receive very little dental care. The argument is invalid, because of the above unwarranted assumption by the author.

The author directly compared people in the Himalayan mountain region of Nepal to people in the suburban areas in the United States. It is widely known fact, the chocolates is the one of the primary snack of the people of United States. Which is leading cause for tooth decay worldwide. But Nepal is still a developing country, since the author compared the People of Himalayan Mountain ranges thee chance of the availability of chocolates are less prevalent. Because of this logical fallacy this assumption is invalid. However the argument can be strengthen by providing sufficient information to assert the availability of tooth decaying factor in the Nepal.

The argument has another comparative statistical fallacy, the author fails to takes account of the population of the people in those Himalayan region of Nepal and suburban areas in the United States. The arguments mainly there lower level of tooth decay in the Nepal when compared to United States. However the population of Himalayan region of Nepal will be very low, when compared to Suburban region of United States. In Nepal it can be 1000 tooth decay out of 5000 children and in United States it can 1 million out of 10 million children. Hence obviously the comparison is flawed because of this logical discrepancy. The argument could have held true, if author had provided enough statistical data regarding the number of complaints received in both region.

Because of the above unwarranted assumptions and fallacies the argument fails to convince that regular dental care is not helpful in preventing the tooth decay