A recent study indicates that children living in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal have lower levels of tooth decay than children living in suburban areas in the United States, despite the fact that people in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal re

Argument sets up a premise that the children in Himalayan mountain range, even after receiving little to no dental care, have lower level of tooth decay than children living in suburban areas of United States. The argument presented by the author is far from being cogent, and is rife with logical fallacies and assumptions.

Social conditions in Himalayan mountain region is not the same as that of suburban areas of United States. Staple diet of the two region could be different. Nepal might have a lack of sugar containing teeth contaminants, like candies, chocolate, ice-cream, sugar-soda etcetera. These contaminants being so popular among children, are the major cause of tooth decay and cavities. Paucity of these in a region might cause a major shift in number of tooth decay cases. A dearth of tooth decay cases could also result in lower usage regular dental care.

In addition to this, the author does not take the bubbly nature of children into account. While it is stated in author argument that children in United States visit an average of 1.25 times per year, which is more than children in Nepal; we do not know if children from suburban areas of United States follow the care suggested by these doctor. Author overlooks whether the suggested care is being enforced by the parents. It might possible that parents in United States are indulgent as opposed to their counterparts in Nepal. This might result in more cases of tooth decay in sub-urban region of United States.

Also, Nepal might be closer to its cultural roots and still follow the traditional cures suggested by the older generations. These cures contains local medicinal herbs and roots, which might be better suited to their teeth. These would result in reduction in regular dental checkups in the region. Moreover, the state of doctors might be shoddy. They might not be proficient enough in their jobs. Argument also fails to state the number of doctors per child in the said places. These might result in people of Himalayan region of Nepal to be apprehensive to go for a regular dental check up.

Moreover, author overlooks the fact that Nepal is a developing nation, while United States is a developed one. All the appointments in United States are recorded and compiled into databases. These databases are used for further research and extrapolation for patterns to increase effectiveness of the overall treatment process. These data, in turn, also gives a precise account of how many of children came for professional appointments in suburban region of United States. Nepal might not be able to support such a large scale technology as of now. It could be the case that Nepal have enough dentists but those appointments are not being recorded or reported properly. More research therefore is needed for drawing any general comparison on the state of regular dental care.

Finally, it is imprudent to take just two distant cases to extrapolate a general conclusion. These two specific regions does not depict the comprehensive picture. The correlation presented in argument between dental care and tooth decay is still tenuous. Argument needs to site more general examples to make its case cogent. In conclusion, due to above-mentioned reasons; it might be too hasty to say that regular dental care is not helpful in preventing tooth decay. We might need to have more encompassing view of the problem at hand, before taking any decision.