A recent study indicates that children living in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal have lower levels of tooth decay than children living in suburban areas in the United States, despite the fact that people in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal receive little to no professional dental care, while people in suburban areas in the United States see a dentist an average of 1.25 times per year. Thus, regular dental care is not helpful in preventing tooth decay.

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

In the proposed passage there is a statement that dental care has nothing to do with stopping tooth decay as children in outskirts in the United States have got very professional dental care opportunities, while children in the Himalays have almost no care and the latter have less problems with tooth decay than the former. This claim is logically inconsistent as there are a lot of explanations of described phenomenon.

First of all, there author does not take into account that there can be a geografical factor that nay play a huge role in the health of people. The Nepal people live in the higher mountain region (and the Himalays are the highest mountain chain in the world), it means that the air there has got density that differs much compared with the air in the US suburbs. It might be the air which is responsible for the the disparate levels of tooth decay.

Secondly, it may be that the Himalayan people gather some herbs and plants which grow in that area and use them in order to keep their teeth healthy, so there may be no need for them to go to to professional dentists as they already have almost no problems with their teeth. As people in the suburbs of the US do not have such herbs and plants thay may have to go to the dentists in order to take care of their teeth.

Thirdly, it is not clear why the author compares the Himalayan region people with the people in the outskirts of the US, not with the whole population of the USA. It may be revealed that on average the children in the USA have lower tooth decay than the Himalayan children. (This may be true due to the fact that people in the suburbs have got less professional dentists than people in the cities.) That would totaly reject the statement that dental care is useless in the preventing tooth decay problems.

Finally, the author insists that on average the children go to see a dentist 1.25 times per year. It may be not enough for keeping tooth decay in the lower level. For example, if an average was 2 or 3 times per year, it might be that the children would have less high tooth decay level. And in this situation it is not possible to say that regular dental care has almost no positive affect.

To conclude, there are many flaws in the author's argument and, therefore, his/her statement cannot be consistent as ther are so many explanations that made phenomena much clearer rather than the author's one.