A recent study indicates that children living in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal have lower levels of tooth decay than children living in suburban areas in the United States, despite the fact that people in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal receive little to no professional dental care, while people in suburban areas in the United States see a dentist an average of 1.25 times per year. Thus, regular dental care is not helpful in preventing tooth decay.

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The argument states that in a recent study of children in Nepal and the suburban areas of United States,the children of Nepal have lower tooth decay then than the United States children despite of the fact that Nepal children receive little to no dental care. Hence according to the author dental care is not useful in preventing tooth decay. However the authors argument has many fallacies which he has not accounted. There are many assumptions made by the author which can't be relied upon. These fallacies are been stated in the following paragraph.

The author in the argument states that Himalayan region in Nepal receive little to no dental care. This is just a vapid assumption with no considerable grounds. This might be possible that the children of Nepal are getting regular professional dental care and hence the tooth decay in children is lower. Hence this assumption of the author is unjustified and we cannot reckon it.

There might be a possibility that the study which is been done is not pertinent. Might be only few children have been studied in Nepal and in Unites States, all the suburban areas of US are not studied. Hence proper statistical data is not been provided to be considered. Hence the argument is completely unjustified.

Additionally it is stated that the people in suburban area in the United States see a dentist an average of 1.25 times per year, but no specific data and statistics is been provided for the children seeing the dentist every year in US. It might be possible that children in US are not going for regular dental care hence they have higher level of tooth decay as compared to the children of Nepal.Hence this argument is unjustified.

At last I would like to say that, more pertinent and statistical data need to provided in order to prove the argument valid. More germane assumptions need to be provided which can be relied upon. Hence the above argument provided by the author is completely unjustified and discarded considering the above fallacies.