A recent study rating 300 male and female Mentian advertising executives according to the average number of hours they sleep per night showed an association between the amount of sleep the executives need and the success of their firms. Of the advertising firms studied, those whose executives reported needing no more than 6 hours of sleep per night had higher profit margins and faster growth. These results suggest that if a business wants to prosper, it should hire only people who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author's conclusion to correlate the number of hours of sleep and the success of the firms they work in has got some fallacies in various categories ranging from flaws in statistical analysis and inappropriate assumptions and generalisations.

The first and foremost flaw is that the study is conducted on the employees of a particular firm but the result is generalised to all forms of business. The work culture, environment and profit margins are different for different firms and the strategy that works for one firm may not be suitable or fruitful for other firms.There can be a number of ...

*** The full content of this essay is available to VIP readers

Subscribe as testbig VIP readers and get unlimited access to essays on the top list.