A recent study reported that pet owners have longer, healthier lives on average than do people who own no pets. Specifically, dog owners tend to have a lower incidence of heart disease. In light of these findings, Sherwood Hospital should form a partnership with Sherwood Animal Shelter to institute an adopt-a-dog program. The program would encourage dog ownership for patients recovering from heart disease, which should reduce these patients' chance of experiencing continuing heart problems and also reduce their need for ongoing treatment. As a further benefit, the publicity about the program would encourage more people to adopt pets from the shelter. And that will reduce the incidence of heart disease in the general population.

The author of this argument claims that people can decrease the incident heart disease if they have a dog as a pet. To justify this recommendation, the author cites the following facts. (1) Based upon recent a study which indicates the possibility of disease in pet owners is lower than that of those who do not have a pet. (2) Sherwood hospital implement adopt-a-dog program which is beneficial for patients suffer from heart disease. (3) This program encourages people to take a pet from a shelter.

First, the author provides no assurance that the survey on which the argument depends is statistically reliable. In fact, the argument does not mention about the number of respondents, their occupation, or their ages. It is entirely possible that all people who took part in the study were younger, so the rate of heart disease between them is low. Hence, if the number of survey’s respondents was too low, or they are not representative of the overall population of general people, the author cannot rely on it to conclude that having a pet can affect people healthy positively.

Second, base on the fact that pet owners are healthier than others, the author infers that a dog can help patients to recover after heart problems. However, in is not necessarily the case. It is possible. The patients may have allergy attitude to the dog and this can intensify their ailment. Since the author does not provide more evidence it is no reasonable to generalize the result of a survey to all people.

In third place, the argument relies on the assumption that respondents are healthy because of the pet. However, it is quite possible that their healthy was due to other factors such as their occupation, where they live, low stress, healthier foods, and even their age. Indeed, people who participated in the survey can live in a village that people’s meals comprise of lower fat foods and more vegetables. Without considering this scenario, the author cannot justify the conclusion that people are healthier in order to have a pet.

Finally, the author assumes that program can encourage people to take a dog from the shelter. Although it is may the dog help people to be live longer, it is only can not be the cause that people take a dog. Perhaps people are not in the proper economic condition, and they cannot afford a dog or pay costs of maintaining it in the home. In addition, some people like to live in the silence environment, while having a dog in the home is contrary to their desire.

To sum up, the argument is logically flowed and therefore, unconvincing as it stands. To strengthen the argument, the author should provide more information about respondents, and effects of pets on patients who suffer from heart disease. To evaluate the recommendation, we should know about all effective factors in this matter.