A recent study reported that pet owners have longer, healthier lives on average than do people who own no pets. Specifically, dog owners tend to have a lower incidence of heart disease. In light of these findings, Sherwood Hospital should form a partnership with Sherwood Animal Shelter to institute an adopt-a-dog program. The program would encourage dog ownership for patients recovering from heart disease, which should reduce these patients' chance of experiencing continuing heart problems and also reduce their need for ongoing treatment. As a further benefit, the publicity about the program would encourage more people to adopt pets from the shelter. And that will reduce the incidence of heart disease in the general population.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author of the statement claims that if Sherwood Hospital partner up with Sherwood Animal Shelter and encourage adopt-a-dog program, more people would adopt pets from the shelther and that will result in decrease of heart disease in the general population. While the argument seems axiomatic, it relies upon gratuitous assumptions.

To begin with, the author cites a recent study as an evidence of his or her assertion; however, the author does not indicate the exact date and region of the study taken, which means it is not verifiable if the same results can be applied to patients of Sherwood Hospital and residents of the respective community. Unless the author manifests that this study is from the regarding region, the author would have to provide more detailed information about the study to substantiate the supposition.

Second, the author assumes false causal inference. The author mentions that owning pets, especially dogs and low incidence of heart disease are correlated; nevertheless, correlation does not imply causation. Dog owners could have less incidence of heart disease owing to numerous other factors such as genetic reasons and environmental reasons. Also, it could be that people with less risk of having heart disease tend to own a dog, which implies an opposite causal relationship. Without ruling out these variables, the author's argument will remain unwarranted.

Moreover, even if it turns out that owning a dog lowers incidence of heart disease, the author conjectures that encouraging dog ownership to heart disease patients will aid them in their recovery process, and lower the chance of continuing disease and treatments. The author, nonetheless, fails to give evidence that people who already have heart disease will benefit from owning dogs as healthy people would. Also, having dogs could create other diseases like lung disease and respiration issues occurred by dogs' fur. The author needs to consider financial factor as well; these patients have already spent a lot of money on treatment, which means further expenditure could decrease their quality of life, thus exacerbating their body condition. Without effectively investigating on these issues, the author should not continue on his or her ill-advised assertion.

Lastly, the author supposes that the suggestion would bring win-win situation for both Sherwood Hospital and Sherwood Animal Shelter. It is, however, entirely possible that the animal shelter carries more of other animals and focus less on dogs. Morever, patients of Sherwood Hospital might not trust in animals shelters where origin of animals are equivocal; these people would rather choose to purchase one from a verified source, especially since they were ill. Furthermore, even if patients of Sherwood Hospital contribute largely to adopting animals from Sherwood Animal Shelter, it is far-fetched to assume that the same will happen to the general population. Therefore, the author's claim that depends upon unsound assumptions is gratuitous.

All in all, because of aforementioned reasons, the author's contention is unwarranted. The author needs to provide more thorough information regarding the suggestion, especially since the recommendation is dealing with patients.