A recent study shows that people living on the continent of North America suffer 9 times more chronic fatigue and 31 times more chronic depression than do people living on the continent of Asia. Interestingly, Asians, on average, eat 20 grams of soy per day, whereas North Americans eat virtually none. It turns out that soy contains phytochemicals called Isoflavones, which have been found to possess disease-preventing properties. Thus, North Americans should consider eating soy on a regular basis as a way of preventing fatigue and depression.

At first glance, it seems that soy can help North Americans to decrease chronic fatigue and depression. But, when we peruse this argument closely, author has missed some important points that make the conclusion look dubious. In the passage below, I will shed some light on the wrong arguments used by the author to reach the conclusion.

First of all, author has mentioned that Asians eat 20 grams of soy a day, whereas North Americans eat virtually none. Author also mentions that soy contains phytochemicals called Isoflavones, which have been found to possess disease-preventing properties. Yes, it is true that chronic fatigue and chronic depression are type of diseases, but it is not specifically mentioned that soy helps to prevent these disease. May be, soy helps to reduce the risk of heart-attack or any other disease. Just by knowing that soy has disease-preventing properties, it cannot be concluded that lower fatigue and depression in Asians is due to soy. It should also be established against which diseases soy is helping, only then it can be suggested that to reduce depression and fatigue, soy should be eaten regularly.

Author also failed to take into consideration various factors such as climate. Fatigue and depression can happen due to cold weather also. In Asia, there is abundant sunlight around most of days in a year. May be exposure to sunlight is lowering the depression and fatigue rate. Fatigue may happen due to lower calcium in our body and vitamin D is required for bones to absorb calcium. Low exposure to sunlight also makes people gloomy and sullen. This may be the cause of high depression and fatigue among people of North America. Author also need to study these factors and should compare apples with apples before coming to the conclusion.

There may be other platitude of reasons for 9 times more fatigue and 31 times more depression among North Americans when compared to Asians. In Asia, culture of fast food is still not that prevalent. Here, people still prefer to eat home food, may be this difference between eating fast food is the cause of depression and fatigue. Unhealthy fast food is not the source of vitamins and minerals required by our body to make it function properly. Fast food do contain high salt and sugar content. Author needs to check these facts also. These may be the reason for higher depression and fatigue among North Americans.

Therefore, to reach a conclusion by taking into account only soy is not prudent. Author should take into account various factors such as different food habits, environment, hereditary etc. to reach to a sound conclusion. It cannot be justified that disease-preventing properties of soy will help in reducing depression and fatigue.