"Recently, we signed a contract with the Fly-Away Pest Control Company to provide pest control services at our fast-food warehouse in Palm City, but last month we discovered that over $20,000 worth of food there had been destroyed by pest damage. Meanwhile, the Buzzoff Pest Control Company, which we have used for many years, continued to service our warehouse in Wintervale, and last month only $10,000 worth of the food stored there had been destroyed by pest damage. Even though the price charged by Fly-Away is considerably lower, our best means of saving money is to return to Buzzoff for all our pest control services."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The vice president of the food distribution company tries to find the best solution for the food storage. He or she assumes that the new company, which is called Fly-Away Pest Control, is not good enough, because they received the considerable damage from the pest at warehouse that is served by this company. The author of the passage thinks that the most appropriate decision is to return to the previous company. Probably, the proposed measure is quite reasonable, however, the argumentation needs more additional evidence to be sure about the text conclusion. Otherwise, the company ventures to make a wrong decision.

The first moment that lacks certainty is about the period of cooperation with the Fly-Away Pest Control company. The author states that the contract was signed recently, but he or she does not specify when it the contract signed exactly. Perhaps, the contract signed six months ago and during this persiod the food was in the total safety. However, the author mentions only about the last mounth when pest destroyed 20 000 dollars worth. Hence, in order to be sure that the Fly-Away Pest Control company is not so reliable in the question of food safety; the author should provide more statistic data of the all period of cooperation. In this case, it would be clearer that Fly-Away Pest Control Company is not efficient.

The author compares warehouses in two different citie: Palm city and Wintervale. There is no doubt that the text lacks a lot of necessary information about these towns. In order to be sure that Fly-Away Pest Control Company is not so good it is reasonable to compare the weather conditions in two cities. Probably, Palm city has quite high level of humidity and it provokes pest to be more aggressive. While Wintervale city, where Buzzof Pest Company serves warehouses, could have the dry climate where pest is not so numerous and dangerous. Hence, the author should provide enough evidence that these two different cities have the same weather conditions. Only in this case, the argument will be valid.

Probably, the main point that should be supported by additional evidence is what kind of pests cause the damage. Perphaps, the last mounth in Palm city was extremely humid and new insect attacked the warehouse. While the Fly-Away Pest was not responsible for this kind of insects. Hence, this moment should be clarified.

To sum up, the author hurries to make the conclusion to discard Fly-Away Pest company, because of its low effeciency. However, the author does not provide enough evidence to be sure about his conclusion. Hence, it would be more advantageous to support the argument by additional evidence.