The regional brand manager sent the following memo to the national brand manager for Sun-Beem Facial Cleanser.

“We need to institute a huge publicity campaign for the launch of Sun-Beem’s improved formula. Without an enormous media blitz, including television, radio, internet, and magazine ads, potential new customers will not be aware of our product. And previous customers will not be aware that Sun-Beem’s new, non-carcinogenic formula is on the shelves. The best way to combat the negative publicity Sun-Beem’s old formula received is to fight fire with fire, by using the media’s insatiable interest in any new news about Sun-Beem to sell the new formula. This will erase the negative connotations in the minds of former customers, and will ensure that Sun-Beem is once again the best-selling facial cleanser on the market.”

The justification for instituting a publicity campaign for the new formula of Sun-Beems's facial cleanser would require confirming certain suppositions presented in the memo by the brand manager. This assumptions are that the press would be interested in the new formula, that this interest would change customers opinion of the product and that company would be poised to regain its market dominance for facial cleansers is an ambitious one.

As much we hope that the media will tell us good news, it isn't what generates clicks, views or interest. If it bleeds it leads. A safe product is hardly newsworthy. The plethora of news stories one is exposed to for something to resonate it has to be controversial or sadly tragic. Mistakes are not easily forgiven and corrections are not easily acknowledged. It is hard to unhear bad news.

Negative brand associations are difficult to erase in the consumer imagination. Take for example the Samsung Galaxy 7 Tablet. Despite going through a product development cycle of a sophisticated company that has had tremendous success it produced an exploding device. It's so dangerous that the inflight directives before take of on a plane prohibit the device on board. That negative publicity has cause Samsung's product to lose market share. Saying new versions of the tablet don't explode would hardly erase the image of plane going up in smoke.

There is ultimately no way to ensure any product can be the best selling in its category despite its previous track record. So many factors influence sales success. After a set back like release a dangerous product in the marketplace would the employees of Sun-Beem be able or motived to sell the improved facial cleanser?

In sum, a publicity blitz would require much more forethought to ensure its success. Undoing a colossal mistake is not just about consumer awareness but about brand rehibilitation.