"To reverse a decline in listener numbers, our owners have decided that WWAC must change from its current rock-music format. The decline has occurred despite population growth in our listening area, but that growth has resulted mainly from people moving here after their retirement. We must make listeners of these new residents. We could switch to a music format tailored to their tastes, but a continuing decline in local sales of recorded music suggests limited interest in music. Instead we should change to a news and talk format, a form of radio that is increasingly popular in our area."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The assumptions of the manager of WWAC radio station are written in the memo about changing radio format to the news and talk format sounds illogically convincing with several reasons. The manager ignored important information and some questions needed to be answered in order to decide that the recommendation is likely to have predicted result.

First, relies in the fact that listener numbers of WWAC have declined, the author infers that audiences do not like rock-music format. However, it is not necessarily the case. People may do not like to listen to the rock-music in radio, because this kind of program has a low quality. Hence, people tend to use internet channels which provide better quality. Without considering this possible scenario, the author can not justifiably conclude that people do not like listen the radio because of rock-music format.

Second, the author provides no assurance that the survey on which the argument depends is reliable. It is quite possible this decreasing of sales was less percentage of all sales, so the survey cannot confirm the director’s conclusion. In addition, the prices may be high at local music stores or people have low income, so they tend more to listen to music in radio instead purchasing music from stores. Moreover, the local music stores may have a little variation of music so they cannot cover people’s demands. Since, the author ignore this possible factors, he can not conclude people are not interest in music.

In the third place, the soundness of the conclusion that news and talk format can attract more listener should be answered by the manager. There is no evidence to show that people’s interested in talk format is more that that of the music format. In short, since the argument relies on limited information, I cannot take the author’s final conclusion seriously.

In sum, the argument is rationally flawed and therefore unconvincing as it stands. To strengthen the argument, the author must provide more statistical information of age of population growth. In order to evaluate better the recommendation, we need to know all effective factors decrease the number of listeners and sales music at local stores.