Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches. Although many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, for the past several decades, food-processing companies have also been adding salicylates to foods as preservatives. This rise in the commercial use of salicylates has been found to correlate with a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by participants in our twenty-year study. Recently, food-processing companies have found that salicylates can also be used as flavor additives for foods. With this new use for salicylates, we can expect a continued steady decline in the number of headaches suffered by the average citizen of Mentia.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The writer of the issue assumes that by the new usage of the salicylates as a flavor, there will be a continuous decline in the number of a headache in Mentia. This claim which cannot be accepted as it stands. It rests on the series of surmises all of which can be challenged in one way or another.

First of all, the author mentions to a study held for twenty years to provide a link between the salicylates and headache. There is no any compelling and concrete evidence to fortify the validity of this study. As asserted in the article the study is held in the twenty years; this is a long duration. Although this span covers more observation and examination, lots of factors such as the lifestyle, eating habit alter in this period too. As long as there is no clear clue that during the study, integral elements had been under the control, there is some shaky doubt on the accuracy of the survey. Besides, the method of the study does not list in the article. Sole reference from the study is that there are fewer reports of headaches in comparison to the past. If the individuals report their problems voluntarily, causes this study to be open to debates; because maybe people are not eager to report their health status or they are busy to deliver the accurate statistic to the researchers. As a result, the outcome of the study is not warranted result.

Second, even the study is valid, and nothing changes during this twenty-year, yet the article is unguaranteed. The author assumes that there is a correlation between the headaches decrement and extra consume of the salicylates in the food-processing. However, it is a vague link. Maybe people utilize other medicine which is beneficial for their headaches; consequently, the effect of the salicylates is abortive and useless. In addition, there is no evidence and statistic from the health stand of the people, before the use of the food preserved by the salicylates. Perhaps, before the consuming of this food, people do not have a that much severe health issue. Thereby the consuming of this food, even with the less efficiency in the headaches, solves the problem. Thus, this drug is not as effective as expected.

Finally, the author declares an unproven hypothesis about the additional use of the salicylates as the flavor, which will strikingly decrease the quantity of the headaches suffering an average of the dweller of the Mentia. Actually, there is no information about the harmful side-effects of the extra consume of the salicylates since further usage of any effective drug or substance can lead to the severe effects. The salicylate is not exceptional from this fact too. Maybe the extra use of this material as the flavor will exceed the standard dose of utilization. Hence, this new use paves the path to other knotty health issues.

All in all, the argument is flawed for the reasons mentioned above and is, therefore, unpersuasive.