To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate. Moreover, the average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years. Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing. Finally, attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham.

The author is suggesting that new dormitories should be built in Buckingham college based on the increase in the enrollment rate. Although, it is quite true that to accommodate the increased strength of students bigger on campus housing facilities will be required, however, the author's argument does not make a cogent case for building new dormitories. The author provides different evidences but it is not clear as to how they directly reflect on implementing the suggested proposal.

The statistical data cited by the author asserts that the enrollment rate will double over a span of 50 years. On careful analysis, one can see that the rate at which the rate is growing is quite slow, since the rate would double in a matter of 50 years i.e. at 4% every year. This data in fact debilitates the proposal of building new dormitories at present. Even if this increase is considered substantial, an increase in the enrollment rate does necessarily mean an increase in the number of students who would choose to live on campus.

To disprove the above mentioned fact, the author posits that with an increase in the average rent for apartments it would be difficult for students to find off-campus boarding and that would mean an increase in students housing on campus. But, the author has overlooked the part where building new dormitories would also mean a hike in the hostel fees for the students, because at least some part of the funds required for this expansion will be taken from their fees. Which of the two options would then be really affordable is the real concern here that needs to be addressed. It is true that there has been an increase in the rents but is it substantial enough that it will make students consider on campus boarding as the final option. Actual figures as to how much the rise in prices has been should have been provided by the author. A generalization as to increase in rent has been mentioned, it is quite possible that this is limited to a particular part of the town. This scope and validity of this evidence is questionable.

Attractive dormitories would mean more students, but the same question of affordability arises. Attractive and new dormitories would mean a hike in the hostel fees. As a result, the new dorms may instead seem like an unattractive option. The whole point of building new dormitories would then become moot. Also, even though the suggestion made by the author may seem practical but does the college have enough funds to do the same, even after taking some portion of the money form the tuition of students. Additionally, is there enough area available with the college to build this new hostel facility. Even if after all these odds, the proposed plan is carried out there is the matter of nuisance that will be caused to other students because of the large scale construction that will be carried out. The author has not given any hint as to how these problems will be tackled.

In conclusion, although the correlations stated are probable, there a lot of other factors that also need to be taken into consideration. A survey should be carried out of the students who would be enrolling. The survey should focus on how many students would be interested in taking up on campus housing. Thereafter, an assessment can be made as to whether the current facility would be enough to house all of them. If this assessment would have been made the author's suggestion might have been more convincing.