In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating, and fishing) among their favourite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river's water and the river's smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean up Mason River. Use of the river for water sports is, therefore, sure to increase. The city government should for that reason devote more money in this year's budget to riverside recreational facilities.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument states a survey conducted regarding the recreational activities of the Mason City residents and assumes that swimming, boating and fishing are the most preferred recreational activities among the majority of the city dwellers. The argument also assumes the Mason River is hardly used for recreational pursuits and despite this fact, the city park department allocates a little of its budget to maintain the riverside for such activities. The city government however, has played no critical role in persuading the state government to take necessary steps to clean the river based on the fact that for years together, there have been constant complaints from residents about the quality of the river water and the stinky river. The argument's conclusion states that the city government should allocate more money in this year's budget to riverside recreational facilities based on the assumption that the use of the river for water sports is bound to increase as the state has recently announced plans to clean up Mason River. The conclusion of the argument is based on assumed cause and effect relationship and various other logical fallacies. Hence, there are many areas that require clarity before reaching to the stated conclusion.

Firstly, the stated surveys on which the entire base of the argument stands is quite weak. As the surveys doesn't mention various details regarding to the number of people who participated in the surveys, or whether the people who were involved in the surveys belonged to higher economic status who could pursue these recreational activities on their vacations far away from the city or not, or whether they preferred pursuing these recreational activities on regular basis or were they just keenly supporting the sport as a pastime instead of actually getting involved in the same. A few more details regarding the surveys would help to draw a far clearer picture about the required steps to be taken by the government.

Secondly, the conclusion is based on the fact that since the state has announced the plans to clean the river it is definitely going to be implemented in the near future. It is also assumed that immediate effects of cleaning the river would be seen, failing to recognize that cleaning a river that has poor quality of water and stinks take a longer span of duration to be completely cleaned. And on the basis of the fact that people will immediately switch back to swimming and boating and the fishes are going to flourish along the riverside adequate enough that people will be drawn to fishing. Hence, based on these false assumption and the fact that the river would be clean enough to be used within a span of year, the conclusion is stated that this particular year's budget should allocate more money for recreational sports.

Finally, the river water's poor quality and smell could probably be due to any reason such as sewage disposal in the river, the nearby chemical factory disposing toxic effluents in the river or garbage disposal in the river. Even after adequate steps are taken to clean the river, the citizens would be apprehensive about the cleanliness of the river, the optimum pH for swimming or would it cause skin infections that could even be deadly due to the toxicity of the river water. Therefore, the government of the state as well as the city first needs to allocate enough money to clean the river as it is the more major issue in hand. Ultimately, after enough successful efforts and having concrete evidence, not based on any assumption, reach a conclusion whether the city government needs to devote more money in its budget to riverside recreational facilities or not.