There is now evidence that the relaxed pace of life in small towns promotes better health and greater longevity than does the hectic pace of life in big cities. Businesses in the small town of Leeville report fewer days of sick leave taken by individual workers than do businesses in the nearby large city of Masonton. Furthermore, Leeville has only one physician for its one thousand residents, but in Masonton the proportion of physicians to residents is five times as high. Finally, the average age of Leeville residents is significantly higher than that of Masonton residents. These findings suggest that the relaxed pace of life in Leeville allows residents to live longer, healthier lives.

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The author argues that relaxed pace of life in small towns lead to better health and greater longevity is an overstatement. The conclusion that the author draws present flaws in the argument that requires a closer in depth analysis for such such conclusion.

The author states that Leeville, a slower paced town compared to Masonton, shows a significant evidence of better health and live longer lives based on the notion that the city is slower paced. This argument overlooks the reasons behind why they have better health and longer lives. The residents in Leeville may have better health because of the environmental benefits of living in a less polluted town. Compared to a city such as Masonton that have bustling cars and buildings that exhaust various polluted and potentially dangerous elements that affect a person's health, Leeville has a more natural exposure that leads to better health. The stress that comes along with working in a city may cause the people in Masonton to deteriorate their health, which in turn may affect the longevity of their lives, but the simple notion that a relaxed pace of life leads to better health and greater longevity is an assumption that requires greater implications.

Furthermore, the author assumes that the fact that Leeville has only one physician for its one thousand residents does not evidently prove that the relaxed pace of life leads to better health and greater longevity. Leeville has only one physician because of sheer location of the town may be required for one physician that the local Leeville needs for emergency or urgent patient care. The residents may be capable to handle medical attention on their own that does not need more than one physician. Leeville residents may go to big cities for hospital care that requires large or extensive medical devices for serious health issues. As a result, the author does not explain what the patient needs for medical attention and assumes that just because there is one physician to care for the Leeville residents do not account for the notion that a relaxed pace of life leads to better health and greater longevity.

Moreover, the author argues that the average age in Leeville is higher than that of Masonton that accounts for the notion that the a relaxed pace town explains better health and greater longevity. However, higher age does not substantiate the notion that the town is capable for leading better health and greater longevity because the residents may be working in large cities such as in Masonton, and commute from home in Leeville. The author assumes that the residents in Leeville is bound by the small town when in fact the Leeville residents may be benefiting from services and livelihood of Masonton. In addition, residents in Leeville may be retiring in a relaxed pace town than in a large city because personal preference. Although the average age in Leeville may be higher, this argument alone does not explain the increased health and longer life in a relaxed pace town.

In conclusion, the author does claim that a relaxed and slower paced city leads to better health and great longevity, but makes assertions that overlook the reasons behind those arguments. The implications of making bold statements lead to generalizations that may hinder the true reasons and explanations as to why it is perceived that a relaxed pace of a town leads to the benefits that a small town has to offer.