Since those issues of Newsbeat magazine that featured political news on their front cover were the poorest-selling issues over the past three years, the publisher of Newsbeat has recommended that the magazine curtail its emphasis on politics to focus more exclusively on economics and personal finance. She points to a recent survey of readers of general interest magazines that indicates greater reader interest in economic issues than in political ones. Newsbeat's editor, however, opposes the proposed shift in editorial policy, pointing out that very few magazines offer extensive political coverage anymore.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

While it may be true that Newsbeat magazine ought to reform its editorial policy to promote sellings, the publisher's suggestions are based on several unanswered questions and are rife with flaws. Answering these questions would be vital for the implementation and success of the changes to be made.

To begin with, the publisher asserts that the sellings of issues with political news on their covers were unsatisfying because readers are not interested in political news. It is unclear, however, the real causes of this phenomenon. For example, it is possible that people show less enthusiasm for these issues simply because they dislike the design style of those front covers. It is also likely that Newsbeat magazine report political news from a biased perspective, thus losing a group of readers who disagree with the standpoint of the magazine. Before answering these questions and many others alike, the publisher is not supposed to make the general conclusion that political news are not welcomed.

Additionally, making the magazine to focus more on economics and personal finance is as risky as it is ungrounded. In deciding what to cover, the first question to be answered is the preferences of the major reader group of the magazine. Even though the publisher adduces survey of readers of general interest magazines to substantiate her argument, she still need to know, particularly, whether readers of Newbeat are interested in economy-related topics or not. Maybe most readers of Newbeat are teenagers, who are likely to be attracted to entertainment news instead of economic issues.

Last but not least, it is unadvisable for the editor of Newsbeat to reject the publisher's recommendation by saying that a small number of magazines are focusing on political news currently. Arguably, it can be an advantageous strategy to stick to political news while other magazines are not, occupying a unique niche in the market. Nonetheless, if the public are mostly lethargic and indifferent to politics, Newsbeat would not benefit from being one of the few magazines that report on politics. Therefore, the editor should form an accurate and clear evaluation of people's general interests before refusing the reform arbitarily.

In sum, the low sellings of Newsbeat magazine issues with political news on the front cover does necessitate the alternation in its coverage. But before any action is taken, the publisher and editor are expected to consider many of the related questions, instead of making desicion upon obstensible relations and facts.