Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia. Using an observation-centered approach to studying Tertian culture, he concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. Recently another anthropologist, Dr. Karp, visited the group of islands that includes Tertia and used the interview-centered method to study child-rearing practices. In the interviews that Dr. Karp conducted with children living in this group of islands, the children spent much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. Dr. Karp decided that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture must be invalid. Some anthropologists recommend that to obtain accurate information on Tertian child-rearing practices, future research on the subject should be conducted via the interview-centered method.

With the information provided, the assumption leading to conclusion remains unfounded. This argument is well presented yet fat-fetched. This assumption claims that two anthropologists visited island of Tertia and they studied child rearing practice in this village which their conclusion is disparate each other. Hence this conclusion is ill-founded

The primary assumption underlying the author’s conclusion is that Dr. Field concluded that children were reared by an entire village rather than their parents twenty years ago. Nevertheless, he fails to preclude other possibility that this comparison is not valid due to the fact that their time is different. As a matter of fact, we cannot compare twenty years ago with recently or today. So, to reinforce the argument the author should have discussed about similar time which it is considerably vital.

Furthermore, the author of the assumptions avers that for obtaining accurate information, we should utilize interview-centered method rather than observation-centered approach. However, he fails to take the other possible reason into account that it might be possible that nature of interviews are distinctive such as number of question or kind of question that ask during interview. So, to reinforce the argument the author should have provided information about nature of interview.

Moreover, the author of the statements assumes that Dr.Karp investigated that the children spend a considerable amount of time with biological parents, Whereas, Dr. Field has asserted that children were reared by entire village. Without considering and ruling about other possibility that perhaps location is different, we should know information relevant to exact location which is highly imperative without any doubt.

In short, as discussed, this conclusion cannot be tenable. The author should have discussed about exact location, nature of interview, number of question, type of question. On the other hand to make a rigid conclusion is very myopic observation method. After all, feckless attempt with a fallible method could be nothing a fool's errand.