Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia. Using an observation-centered approach to studying Tertian culture, he concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than

This argument asserts that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well and thus his interview-centered method should establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions. To substantiate this conclusion, the arguer tries to prove that the result of Dr.Field's study on child-rearing traditions is invalid with his own research result. At first glimpse, this argument may be plausible, but with further looking at it, the argument is filled with a lot of logical fallacies which make its conclusion completely unsound.

In the first place, the arguer claims that his recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show those children talking about their biological parents more than other adults in the village. This conclusion is quite unreliable since his interviews include other islands, not just Tertia. Maybe children on other islands do talk about their biological parents more than other adults, but the Tertia is actually the opposite. To assert the author's conclusion, he must provide detail information about his interviews such as the interview results on each island where he performs the interviews, otherwise this conclusion is invalid.

Even if his assertion about talking time is true, that does not mean the observations of Dr.Field is wrong. The author doesn't mention who these children are talking to. Perhaps the children do spend more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village, but they are actually talking with other adults who rear them. If this is correct, then the children actually spend more time living with other adults in the village, while they like talk with the adults about their biological parents. Unless the author can provide specific evidence to eliminate this kind of possibility, he cannot deny the conclusion made by Dr.Field.

Furthermore, even the Dr.Field's conclusion is incorrect, it is unsound for the writer to conclude that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. It is very possible the conclusion only fails on the research on this particular island but successes on the research of other islands. If the author can offer the evidence that the conclusion made by Dr.Field also contradicts with the phenomenon on all other islands, then this assertion may be correct.

To sum up, the author needs to provide more detail information and data about the research result he gains on all of the islands where he has performed the interview to convince me that his assertion on talking time is correct. What's more, unless he provides evidence that disprove all the observation results made by Dr.Field are wrong, he cannot persuade me to believe that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well.