Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia. Using an observation-centered approach to studying Tertian culture, he concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. Recently another anthropologist, Dr. Karp, visited the group of islands that includes Tertia and used the interview-centered method to study child-rearing practices. In the interviews that Dr. Karp conducted with children living in this group of islands, the children spent much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. Dr. Karp decided that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture must be invalid. Some anthropologists recommend that to obtain accurate information on Tertian child-rearing practices, future research on the subject should be conducted via the interview-centered method.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author of the argument purportedly state that in order to analyze and gain more information on Tertian children nurturing, more research is needed based on interview method. However, the premises upon which he puts his claim are fallacious. For the support of which some critical, yet ignored question need to be addressed.

First, the author contends that Dr. Field visited the Island and use observation method to analyzing that children in Tertian were nurtured by village rather than their parents. However, it does not lend credence to the argument since, a question that might arise is whether his method to study child-rearing is accurate or not. One point that should be considered is that maybe Dr. Field analyze the situation based on his experience. In fact, he does not represent any information or even statistic that prove his observation was correct. It is also important to say that his observation conducted twenty years ago and the result cannot be reliable. Indeed, there is possibility that nurturing children change over time.

The author also assumes that another anthropologist, Dr. Krap, visited the group of Islands that include Tertian and used the interview method to study child-rearing. Although it might seems tenable at face, it has some detects since, you can always ask this question if visiting a group of Island can determine the accurate and reliable outcome for Tertian Island or not. One of the main, if not the only, problem with the premise is that maybe different situations were governed on every Island. In fact, there is possibility that not every Island provided with the same culture in order to nurture their children. Alongside that, research based on interview could not be trustworthy because not equal question may have asked from people.

Finally, as set forth by the author Dr. Krap concluded that children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adult in the village. In addition, he decided that Dr. Field conclusion about Tertian village must be invalid. Nevertheless, the rationale behind this premise could be challenged owing to an unsettled question if crowds of children spend much more time talking with their parents or not. One point that should not go unnoticed is that maybe children did not correctly answer those questions in the interview. Actually, it might seems that their parents forced their children to talk about them in the interview. In this case, the outcome of interview could not be reliable. Moreover, the research by Dr. Field just focused on the Tertian village while Dr. Krap research concentrated on a group of Island including Tertian. This analogy would probably seems incorrect.

Having scrutinized the premises, a logical conclusion that can be drawn is that there are a number of questions, having been ignored by the author, while the answer of which could add to the logic of each premises.