Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia. Using an observation-centered approach to studying Tertian culture, he concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. Recently another anthropologist, Dr. Karp, visited the group of islands that includes Tertia and used the interview-centered method to study child-rearing practices. In the interviews that Dr. Karp conducted with children living in this group of islands, the children spent much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. Dr. Karp decided that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture must be invalid. Some anthropologists recommend that to obtain accurate information on Tertian child-rearing practices, future research on the subject should be conducted via the interview-centered method.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

Given the method of research presented by Dr. Karp, more evidence is needed in order to completely invalidate Dr. Fields’ research. According to Dr. Karp, interviews were done with children that live in the group of isalnds that include Tertia. Since Dr. Field’s research is focused specifically on the group of children who live in Tertia, only children and adults who live in there should be interviewed.

Dr. Feilds’ team did interviews with children in a group of islands, therefor it stands to reason that only a handful, or even none of the children interviewed live in Tertia. It is possible that the majority of the children interviewed were from other villages on the island in which child rearing is done differently. If Dr. Fields’ team interviews children only from Tertia they may find different results. Certainly if the children they interview still speak more about their own bilogical parents than they do about other adults in the village, this could further strengthen Dr. Fields’ argument. Still these interviews alone are not enough evidence. Simply because a child speaks more about their biological parent than they do about other adults, that does not imperically prove that that child isn’t also being partly raised by other adults in the village. It simply means that the questions asked by the interviewer led them to speak about their biological parents, or that the child just chose to speak about their biological parents, and not other adults in the village. Therefor, even more evidence needs to be garthered and interviews with adults in Tertia need also be conducted.

Interviewing both the children and adults will paint a much more specific picture of what child rearing looks like in Tertial. Certainly if the children interviewed speak mainly about their bilogical parents and the adults speak mainly about only raising their bilogical children this will do much more to strenthen Field’s argument. At the moment the Dr.s argument is only based on very small sample of childeren that may or may not reside in Tertia. By interviewing the people of Tertia only, Dr. Field’s arguent might also be weakened. If residents speak reference other adults helping to teach and raise the children, then Dr. Karp’s hypothesis might begin to look more plausible. Certainly, interviews are not always the most conclusive or reliable. To fully debunk or prove Dr. Karp’s original analysis both observation and interviews conducted by several different teams would be needed. Through all the compilation of all this qualitative research, perhaps a more quantitative results can eventually be yielded.

Certainly, at this point in time Dr. Field’s does not have enough evidence to prove Dr. Karp’s hypothesis to be right or wrong. At this time Dr. Field’s interviews are too broad and too limited to form a conclusion in either direction.