Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia. Using an observation-centered approach to studying Tertian culture, he concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. Recently another anthropologist, Dr. Karp, visited the group of islands that includes Tertia and used the interview-centered method to study child-rearing practices. In the interviews that Dr. Karp conducted with children living in this group of islands, the children spent much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. Dr. Karp decided that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture must be invalid. Some anthropologists recommend that to obtain accurate information on Tertian child-rearing practices, future research on the subject should be conducted via the interview-centered method.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

Dr. Karp seeks to undermine our current understanding of Tertian village's culture by introducing evidence from his interview-centered research that seemingly contradicts with Dr. Field's observation-centered research twenty years prior. While at first glance, the interviews with Tertian children cast doubt on Dr. Karp's conclusion that children in Tertia were reared by the entire village, Dr. Karp does not do a sufficient job of convincing the reader that his interview-centered approach results supports his conclusion.

Before analyzing the data collected by his interview, one must question Dr. Karp's interviewee of choice. While all interviews are subject to bias of the interviewer, children are especially influenced by how questions are asked as they are still nascent in their cognitive development. If Dr. Karp structured his interview in a way casted more focus on the child's biological parents, even if it is by simply asking the child to identify them, it can unconsciously lead a child to speak more about their biological parents. Thus, the mere fact that these children spent more time on the topic of their parents does not necessarily mean they actually spend more time with them. This is both because the child interviewee could have been biased to speak about their parents by the interviewer, and because more time spent speaking about a subject doesn't necessarily translate to non-participation of other villagers in the child's life.

Even if Dr. Karp proves that his interview methods were unbiased, and that it can be inferred that Tertian children's biological parents play a larger part in the children's development than other villagers, it is still insufficient to conclude that Dr. Field's observations are invalid. While Dr. Fields concluded that Tertian children were reared by the entire village, he does not speak about the proportion of time each child spends with his biological family. It may be the case that Tertia does have a community-based approach to rising children that is strikingly different than the household-based approach in Western culture, even if the children still spends a large amount of time with their biological parents relative to other villagers. Without giving us a sense of magnitude or any comparison examples to other cultures, Dr. Karp's research does not necessarily conflict with the initial work done by Dr. Field.

Dr. Karp did not successfully defended the superiority of his interview-based approach and its supposed accuracy. While the finding by Dr. Karp is interesting and perhaps suggests that the Tertian village culture is not as drastically different than Dr. Field initially concluded, more evidence is needed to overturn Dr. Field's initial observations completely.