The vice president for human resources at Climpson Industries sent the following recommendation to the company's president.

"In an effort to improve our employees' productivity, we should implement electronic monitoring of employees' Internet use from their workstations. Employees who use the Internet inappropriately from their workstations need to be identified and punished if we are to reduce the number of work hours spent on personal or recreational activities, such as shopping or playing games. Installing software on company computers to detect employees' Internet use is the best way to prevent employees from wasting time on the job. It will foster a better work ethic at Climpson and improve our overall profits."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In this recommendation, the author argues that Climpson Industries should implement electronic monitoring of employees’ internet use. Although the argument may seem convincing at first, the unsubstantiated evidence lead me to conclude that the argument is flawed on many grounds. (good)

First, the author should provide evidence that spending work hours on personal or recreational activities may decrease the employees’ productivity. Humans only can concentrate on something for 4hours per day, so compulsory control of worker’s working hour may meaningless. Also, work can relieve workers and by doing some other things like internet shopping or web surfing, it might be improve employees’ productivity. Creative ideas might come out and help improve their productivity dramatically.

Furthermore, more specific evidence on monitoring of employees’ internet use is needed to determine the soundness of the conclusion. These days , almost everyone has their own mobile. Employees can be on the internet by using their mobile phones. It is also likely that employees chat with each other or be lazy. Thus, monitoring only company computers will not necessarily lead to a decline in time wasted at work.

Lastly, the author needs to supplement the argument with more concrete evidence that monitoring of employees’ internet use from their workstations can improve Climpson’s overall profits considering the cost to installing electronic monitoring system. Many of the computer software programs are expensive. Although it can increase worker’s productivity, considering the cost of installing and maintaining the monitoring system,profit might decrease. .