"We recommend that Monarch Books open a café in its store. Monarch, having been in business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a large customer base because it is known for its wide selection of books on all subjects. Clearly, opening the café would attract more customers. Space could be made for the café by discontinuing the children's book section, which will probably become less popular given that the most recent national census indicated a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten. Opening a café will allow Monarch to attract more customers and better compete with Regal Books, which recently opened its own café."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation

Author proposes an idea to open cafe in Monarch book's store as it has large customers and space for cafe can also be easily created by removing children's book collection section.But the author doesn't provide cogent reasons to support his idea.The idea is based upon certain assumptions and ripen with certain loop holes.

Firstly the author assumes that book customers will also be customers of cafe as store has huge customers who will get attracted to cafe.But it may not be true because the store be good at it's collection of books which attracted the huge number of customers and made profit out of it but Monarch may not be good at preparing dishes and maintaining them as it is inexperienced it cafe field.Hence, even though it can attract customers in initial stages may not be profitable in long run.

Secondly the author assumes that location which is favourable for book store will also be applicable for cafe.It may not be true because in that particular location there might not be good book stores so many people purchased books from Monarch but it is possible that there already many good cafes in that location and hence people may go for other cafes.

Additionally, the author states that space for cafe can be provided by cutting down children books section as there is a report saying that there is decline in percentage of population under ten.But it based on false assumption that decline in percentage of population under ten is equivalent to decline in number of children under ten.It may be possible that there is increase in population of people both under ten and above ten but increase in population above ten greater than above below ten making percentage of people under ten less.This assumption may lead them to huge decline in number of customers for books making the store into loses.

Hence, by carefully examining various aspects, the idea may not be viable as it is based on some assumptions that location favourable for books is also favourable for cafe, success in books store will also ensure success in cafe and decline in percentage of population is equal to decline in number.Further it may lead to unnecessary waste of time and money if these assumptions are unwarranted.