"We recommend that Monarch Books open a café in its store. Monarch, having been in business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a large customer base because it is known for its wide selection of books on all subjects. Clearly, opening the café would attract more customers. Space could be made for the café by discontinuing the children's book section, which will probably become less popular given that the most recent national census indicated a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten. Opening a café will allow Monarch to attract more customers and better compete with Regal Books, which recently opened its own café."

Opening a cafe to complement a book store might, at first glance, seem a very plausible option to expand business. However, upon deep analysis of assumptions, in which above conclusion is predicated on, we can easily cast doubt on the rationality of conclusion.

Firstly, above argument claims that Monarch Books would be able to retain its huge costumer base – or even add more- if it builds a cafe. But, this assumption is not based on any studies or survey of costumers; costumer preference is not taken into account, and the claim is made without any concrete reason. So, it is not obvious from any point that costumer would like the idea of cafe near the book store. Who knows if the costumers would detest the idea of cafe near book store, as it may be an unnecessary distraction when one needs a silent environment to study books?

Secondly, the argument claims that it would be good to discount children’s book section itself to build up the cafe, based on census, which reports a dwindling number of children under 10. Apparently, this claim might seem credible, but deep-down the assumption seems self-proclaimed; argument doesn’t mention any study or finding that establishes relationship between dwindling of children’s population with a corresponding decrease in book readers. Although the population of children under 10 has decreased, the trend of book reader of that age might show an opposing trend. If this case happens to exist, compromising children’s book section might have a deleterious effect on business. Moreover, the number of book readers in Monarch Book might have been high due to number of parents who accompany their young children to the store, and if children book section is removed, the store might even lose this costumer base (with children).

Similarly, the above argument also claims that opening of cafe would help it compete with other book store, which too has built a cafe. However, the argument doesn’t mention if both stores have every other thing in common because if there are any differences between them, building cafe might give competitive advantage to other while proving disadvantageous to Monarch. For instance, the location of Monarch might be at midst of different food store. So, those customers who come to Morach cafe may have chosen the book store solely for reading purpose, but Regal might be located in far-flung area of town where it is very difficult to find food stores. In this situation having cafe would be advantageous for Regal as costumers would enjoy dual benefit there but in case of Monarch, no costumer would choose a book-store with a cafe if they have many food stores nearby as the cafe might be a cause of distraction for them.

Finally, opening a cafe to complement book store might be a plausible idea, but given the baseless assumptions, the conclusion needs to have a serious revision. A further study on verity of each conclusion might be beneficial to the book store owner.