Workers in the small town of Leeville take fewer sick days than workers in the large city of Masonton, 50 miles away. Moreover, relative to population size, the diagnosis of stress-related illness is proportionally much lower in Leeville than in Masonton. According to the Leeville Chamber of Commerce, these facts can be attributed to the health benefits of the relatively relaxed pace of life in Leeville.

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The author asserts that Relatively relaxed pace life can attribute health benefits because small town of Leeville shows Proportionally lower stress-related illness and fewer sick days of worker than large city of Masonton. However, the argument is unpersuasive because it relies on several questionable assumptions.

To begin with, the author assumes that proportionally lower stress-related illness of Leeville indicate great welfare, however, this may not be the case. For instance, small sample size can easily distort the proportional data. There must be exceptional case like increasing number of stress-related illness people and small sample group is susceptible to this fluctuation and as a result compare proportion with very different sample size is dangerous.Thus, additional evidence such as proportion of lower stress-related illness of Leeville for long term is required to decide whether this proportion indicate health benefits.

Moreover, it is assumed that Leeville’s fewer sick days of worker is indicator of good heath, however, this may not be warranted. For example, worker might have different field of working. If Leeville’s workers are mainly working at farm which are less dangerous and worker of Masonton are working at construction which are more likely to have unpredictable accidents, number of sick worker might not the indication of health benefit. Therefore, in order to judge if fewer sick worker indicates health benefits, further proof such as workers of Leeville and Masonton work in same field is necessary.

Finally, the argument rests on the assumption that relatively relaxed atmosphere of small town is the reason of their health benefits, however, it needs to be substantiated with further support. It could, for instance, it can might be because of characteristic of city like bad pollution large population which make different health benefits between Leeville and Masonton. In the city, there are lots of people with high density thus it is easy to be exposed to infection by other people, also there can be much air pollution with much traffics and large population. These factors might cause bad impact on citizen’s heath. Hence, more evidence should be provided to verify whether or not relaxed pace is healthful.

In conclusion, further evidence such as sufficient data for proportional stress-related illness to cover different sample size, where workers of these cities are engaged in to compare sick workers and relaxed pace is healthful is required for an adequate assessment or a more persuasive argument.