Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the above issue, the author of the argument concludes the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean. He presents evidence to suggest this is valid – first, the Palean baskets were found in a village across the Brim river from Palea and second, it can be crossed only by boat and no Palean boats were found in that village. Though the underlying issue may have merit, because of lack of more relevant evidences and unaddressed assumptions, the author’s argument is unsubstantiated and deeply flawed.

The first assumption made by the author is there is no way to reach Lithos, other than the river. Although, the village is across the Brim River, it is unwarranted to assume one cannot reach the village via some other route, for example, through land.

Another flawed assumption in the argument is that since, boats were not found in Lithos, completely justifies the fact that the river was never crossed. There can be multiple justifications for the absence of boats – they must have been outmoded, and hence, destroyed; some people must have returned from Lithos to Palean in the same boat, and others. Hence, it cannot be warranted that the river was never crossed.

The most pivotal point in the author’s argument is the assumption that the art of any region must be qualified to that area only. However, careful scrutiny of the evidence reveals that it provides little credible support for the author’s conclusion in several critical respects, and raises several skeptical questions. This is flawed as the art that is uniquely created by a group, or culture, is liable to influence the neighboring areas and also, the artisans sell their products to make profits. Therefore, artifacts found in Lithos are not necessarily made by the inhabitants of that area, but people might have bought them from Palea, for their aesthetic beauty.

Without convincing answers to these questions, the reader is left with the impression that the claims made by the author are more of a wishful thinking rather than substantive evidence.

In conclusion, the author’s argument is unpersuasive as it stands. To bolster it further, the author must provide more concrete evidence, perhaps by way of a detailed analysis of why Palean woven baskets are not considered unique.