Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Conclusion of this argument “The so called Palean baskets which were supposed to be originated in Palea are not uniquely Palean” rests weakly on following three assumptions: First, Palean didn’t knew boat making. Second, Woven baskets were found in only two places. And Third, Palean and lithos did not know about each other.

The argument says that no palean boats were found and thus palean couldn’t have crossed river and gone to lithos. What is palean knew about boat making and their boats were all destroyed or if archeaologists found palean boats then it can be assumed that woven baskets were taken to lithos by palean. Moreover the survey carried out by archealogists did not say anything about boats of Lithos. So what if Lithos knew about boat making and they crossed the river, came to palean and took the art of woven baskets. If this is the case then we can say that woven baskets were uniquely palean.

Next the argument assumes that the woven baskets were found only in palean and lithos. So what if the basket accidently like due to excessive flood or some other reason reaches the other bank of Brim river where Lithos is situated? Then it can be asserted that the basket was specifically Palean.

The argument also assumes that Palean and Lithos did not know each other. Suppose palean and lithos were connected through a trade market, then it is possible that lithos took the basket from palean.

Thus it can be said that the argument relies on these arguments and if any of these arguments are proved otherwise then that will weaken the conclusion. In order to strenghten the point the author need to address more about the river conectivity of that time and it need to consider the possibilities of trade realtions between the two villages and also it need to include the study of other artifacts to understand the design patterns to find similarities and then it can be assumed that the baskets were not uniquely Palean.